top of page
  • Christy Lungu

5 WAYS TO UPDATE YOUR BATHROOM ON A BUDGET

Updated: Mar 8, 2019

I don't know about you but I love spending alone time in my master bathroom at home. The bathroom is my hideaway and the only place I can escape from my 2-year old son. I usually get five whole minutes alone before I hear, "mooommmyyy! moooommmy!" Followed by loud banging on the door and him jiggling the door handle to get in. Have a baby they said, it'd be fun they said. I love my son, I really do, but I also really miss being able to use the bathroom in silence.


All jokes aside, I really do enjoy time in my bathroom because it makes me feel relaxed and at peace. A lot of that has to do with the small accents incorporated into the design of my bathroom. If you don't have a big budget for a total bathroom remodel, below are some tips on how you can upgrade your bathroom without breaking the bank.


1. PAINT

A fresh new coat of paint screams, "LOOK AT ME, I GOT A MAKEOVER!" This is really a no-brainer when you are looking for an affordable (and quick) way to revamp your bathroom, or any other room.



2. UPDATE FIXTURES & HARDWARE

Matching fixtures and hardware really ties everything together. If you are going to be updating your lights, mirror, faucet, or hardware, make sure select the same finish so everything matches. These small details make a huge difference, especially in a small space.




3. NEW GROUT & CAULK

Let's face it, no matter how much you scrub and clean your shower, black or red mold is inevitably going to show up. It's really gross to look at and shower in. We had this issue with one of our guest bathrooms when we made the mistake of choosing white ceramic and marble tile for the shower. I know, I know..."but it looks so pretty!" I love white showers, they look so crisp and clean! But let's face the reality of it...they are a lot of maintenance and get dirty very easily, especially if you have kids.


The great thing about this issue is that you can get rid of it. Quickly and affordably. If you want to do it yourself, check out NATCO (North American Tile Cleaning Organization). NATCO provides professional DIY tips and techniques for cleaning, sealing and restoring all types of tile, grout and stone. Or you can always hire a local company in your area to do it for you, which typically costs $100-$200, depending on the size of your bathroom.



4. GIVE YOUR EXISTING VANITY A FACELIFT

If you can't afford a new vanity and you love DIY projects then you'll probably want to go this route. You can revive your (old) existing vanity by painting it and putting new hardware on it. Don't forget to match your hardware to your fixtures. It makes all the difference!


Sara of Mom Endeavors gave her bathroom vanity a modern and sleek facelift by painting it, adding a new faucet, and hardware. It almost doesn't even look like the same vanity! This DIY project will cost you less than $100, depending on the faucet and hardware you choose.


5. LAYER WITH ACCESSORIES

What is layering? Fresh Home defines it spot on: "Layering is the act of building the room from the ground up. It’s about taking each of those individual design elements and pulling them together to form a cohesive look. It’s the special ingredient that adds depth to a space and makes it extraordinary." Accessories really define your personal style. Things like vases, towels, candles, soap dispenser, toothbrush holder, etc. I love how Studio 511 layered this classic bathroom its accessories.


If you are looking for affordable accessories to add a touch of your own style to your bathroom, here is a list of my go-to stores:

Home Goods, Ross Dress for Less, TJ Maxx, Marshalls, Wayfair, and Amazon.

I hope this article inspires you and gives you that motivation you've been looking for to revamp your bathroom(s), without breaking the bank. Do you have any remodel tips? If so, I'd love to hear about them! Or if you need some help, feel free to contact me!

35,130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page